Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 68

    SUNDAY FUNDAY

    March 5, 2017 in Nicaragua ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    When I went to Costa Rica 3 years ago I saw all these people wearing T-shirts saying SUNDAY FUNDAY. I figured out they had all been to the same party in Nicaragua. A pool crawl from hostel to hostel in San Juan del Sur. At that time I imagined it to be a lot less professional but when I came back to Central America 3 years later and still lots of people were wearing these T-shirts I realized it's quite a big party with sometimes even kind of famous DJs happening every week in the same 4 hostels. When I got to the Surf Camp I was quite happy to hear that there was a group of people going to SUNDAY FUNDAY (sundays is surf free anyway) because something like this is always more fun in a group.
    We all agreed you can only do SUNDAY FUNDAY if you go all in. Which means I mixed a bottle of Rum with Fresca to take it with me when we jumped on a shuttle to SJDS around 11am.
    Once we got into town we went straight to Pacha Mama, the first of the 4 hostels, to buy our tickets and choose our T-shirts. The T-shirts still look like 3 years ago when I saw them first in Costa Rica. The only thing changing is the color. Turns out every size has a different color. So there are 2 ways to choose your T-shirt: by size (and I guess a lot of people choose the smallest size they can make fit as everybody knows which size you wear because of the color) or by color. Of course I went for color (dark pink with neon print, yeah). Parts of our group left again afterwards to get food or other stuff but me and Izzy, Nicole and Laura just stuck around till the DJ started playing. From that point on it was all just a funny party which kept on going. The pool at Pacha Mama was pretty small so not a lot of people jumped in. But it was a nice party location as it was quite small and got crowded quickly. At some point the music just turned of and everybody walked over to the second place which was right at the beach. You were welcomed at the door by people pouring rum shots straight into your mouth. But like we said, we go for the whole experience, right?
    The pool here was quite nice so I jumped straight in. After a while a shuttle brought people from here to the third place which was up on a hill and supposed to have a nice view for sunset. But as we were still fouling around and didn't wanna get in line for the shuttle we watched the sunset down at the beach and actually took the last shuttle to get up there.
    I remember being on a slack line here practicing my balance - which is not the easiest thing after a day of Nica Libre. After the shuttles took us down to the last place we figured it was almost 9pm and we had asked at the surfcamp for a pick up at this time. We weren't quite ready to leave but in the end Izzy and I took that chance to get back to the camp before things got to crazy. But going to bed was not an option. So we ordered another Nica Libre there and suddenly realized we hadn't had any food since breakfast - I've never been this happy to have a bag of chips!
    It was hard to get out of bed the next morning at 8 to get ready to surf but it was one of my best sessions and the cold water was the best hang over cure ever!
    Read more