Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 194

    Canoa

    July 9, 2017 in Ecuador ⋅ 🌧 18 °C

    In Canoa I met up with Luis and his friend Ryan. It was nice to know I would be around people I knew as I didn't really know what to expect from the small surf town Canoa in off season. But as it turned out the hostel was really social and a nice place to get back in the water. But the absolute highlights were their two puppies! I couldn't stop cuddling them.
    As they overbooked their dorm rooms I got an upgrade to a little private room with my own bathroom for the price of the dorm.
    We hung out at the hostel the first day catching up and only went to town for dinner.
    There was a nice couple volunteering in the hostel and I went surfing with them the next morning. The waves weren't perfect but I was happy I was able to catch some and had a lot of fun - and that's all what surfing is about.
    The hostel had a shared BBQ that night for which everybody was supposed to bring something. As most people were preparing salads and other vegetarian dishes we decided to buy some chicken. As it turned out this meant we had to go to San Vincente the next town. We caught a bus and after the guys had a quick lunch we went to the market to buy a whole (dead) chicken. It came with feed and intestines but we told the lady from the market she could keep that. Luckily she also cut the chicken in its parts which made it a lot easier for us.
    When we got back to the hostel everybody was already busy in the kitchen. It was amazing what people were preparing! There were lots of salads, skewers, prawns, hummus, fresh french fries, quesadillas and lots more!
    It was a really nice night with everybody eating together!
    The next morning when I got ready to leave I suddenly felt the earth shaking. As I was by myself in my room I wasn't sure if I had just imagined it. But when I came down for breakfast the guys asked me immediately: "Did you feel the earthquake?"
    Later on the bus a guy next to me told me that the "terremoto" was measured 5.7 in the next town. That's how I got to know a new word. terremoto = earthquake. At least I thought I learned a new word. Turned out later it needs a few more occasions for me to remember a word properly.
    Read more