Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 196

    Montañita

    July 11, 2017 in Ecuador ⋅ ☁️ 23 °C

    Just before I jumped on the bus in Canoa to get to Montañita I got the message from my mum that my aunt had died. I knew this was coming but it still hit me to realize that I wouldn't see her again. It's not easy getting messages like that when you are far away from home having no one familiar around.
    I was traveling with Luis and Ryan and knowing about the situation of my aunt had been one of the reasons I wanted to catch up with them. But in the end I didn't feel close enough to them to share this news. I pulled back and found a quiet spot in the back of the bus. I started writing an email to my aunt and remembering the last time I met my aunt made me sad but also helped. Once we got to Montañita I knew I had to function somehow. Unfortunately Montañita and the hostel we had booked was not what we had expected. Canoa had been a bit cloudy and cold at nightbut Montañita was completely grey and rainy. As the streets here weren't paved everything was muddy. And our hostel was kind of dirty with a small and cramped communal area. Definitely not the place to lighten up my mood. As the guys also didn't like the hostel we walked around checking out a few other places. Also we wanted to go on a tour the next day to Isla de la Plata which is apparently the poor mans Galapagos (but I heard that about a lot of places). But I couldn't make up my mind. I knew I didn't feel right but probably this had nothing to do with the weather or the hostel. In another mood I might have liked it.
    After a hot shower I made my decision. I wouldn't go on the tour as I probably wouldn't appreciate it anyways. And as I didn't wanna spend another day in that hostel I would change to a hostel a bit out of town right at the beach which was a lot more spacious and had lots of nice areas to hang out. This meant I would split up with the guys as they were going on the tour and wanted to change to a nicer hostel in town. But it didn't really matter right now.
    The new hostel was really nice. They had 2 donkeys running around free on the grounds and a blue footed bubi that was injured so they took care of it till it could fly again. The blue footed bubi is one of the reasons people go to Isla de la plata so I knew I had made the right decision when I met the little fellow.
    I met some nice people at the hostel and spend a lot of time talking to Julius from Hamburg but also took some time by myself and finished writing the mail to my uncle. It really wasn't easy to put something like that in writing but like I said earlier it also helped a lot.
    The hostel had Cannelloni with spinach and ricotta for dinner. I hadn't had spinach in forever and really enjoyed that meal!
    Even though this hostel was a lot nicer then the first the cloudy weather still wasn't really appealing so I decided to leave the next day to make my way to the coast of Peru where the sun was supposed to be.
    Read more