Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11–12

    Ayegui

    March 25 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 11 °C

    A delightful walk through vineyards, olive groves, orchards, fields of rapeseed, cereal and other vegetables: A day of enjoying five-star scenery. It was cloudy; we are anticipating rain tomorrow.

    I started at 6:30 am, leaving Puente la Reina while it was dark. Breakfast at Cirauqui was a lovely time to catch up with fellow travellers. Most opted to stop at Estella, while I walked to Ayegui, about 2 km further.

    It was a good decision: whole albergue (a municipal one sharing facilities with a sports hall) has only 5 guests including three Koreans and myself.

    I visited the Decathalon store in Estella to replace a broken hiking stick: I now have an unmatched pair. Dinner came from the local Lidl.

    [Day 7, 24 km walked, 114 km from St Jean Pied-de-Port, 669 km to Santiago.]
    Read more