Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 39

    Mohammad Ali Road, Mumbai

    July 15, 2015 in India ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    The Islamic section of Mumbai was overwhelmingly alive this evening, it being one of the final nights of Ramadan. Chris (a film director from LA who just completed his work in India), Mertens (a local who helps us around town), and I made our way to Mohammad Ali Road for dinner and dessert (my fourth and fifth meals of the day. Yes, I value dessert enough to give it "meal" status). The collection of pedestrian streets and cramped auto passages boasted a sprawling display of shops, food stalls, traffic, and enthusiasm. I probably sweat out my body weight and then ate my body weight over again during our two hours walking the area. Chris is covered in ornate tattoos and I looked like an amazed fool, so plenty of locals (especially women and young men) stopped us to ask if we were enjoying ourselves. "This. This is India!" several people told us.Read more