Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 44

    City Palace, Udaipur, Rajasthan

    July 20, 2015 in India ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    Three not at all sarcastic French medical students and I visited Udaipur's city palace today. Between demonstrating and explaining the intricacies of second-hand irony to one another, we enjoyed the sights and sounds of Udaipur. Cramped and chaotic but electric and vibrant, the city makes growing weary of it as much of a challenge as exploring all its nooks and crannies. It being my first day back on the move, I led a leisurely pace. Around 2 pm, after the French had departed to the bus station to secure tickets for a day trip to Ranakpur, I bought a journal and piece of artwork from an elderly couple's two local artisan shops. As I left the art shop I was greeted warmly by a British couple I had previously met in Palolem. I sat with them for an hour before they moved on toward City Palace museum. At their cafe I accidentally began a conversation with a 23 year old Canadian girl named Alex working for an international NGO. We talked things from pop culture to Kerala's education system before parting ways and hoping to make dinner plans with friends tomorrow night.Read more