Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 51

    Priya Hotel (Restaurant), Jodhpur

    July 27, 2015 in India ⋅ 🌧 7 °C

    Good local restauarants, all referred to as "hotels", were farther from my Jodhpur hostel than anticipated. Nonetheless, I wanted to make an occasion of my 50th day on the road, so I made my way back toward Jodphur's commercial district, where I had very little luck finding sit down spots. Luckily, two British girls pointed me towards an excellent Thali restaurant with an ice cream parlor. I probably overspent on my Fixed Thali and Kesar Pista ice cream, which in India means throwing down $2.60 and $0.55, respectively. The meal, Thali, is a platter with rice, pappadum (the curly, rolled cracker thing), chapathi (like Indian-bread tortillas), dal (lentils), paneer masala (cheese cooked like potatoes in a curry), and a few other of the chef's preferences. It is something that I started ordering several times a week in my attempts to copy the locals...Read more