Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 64

    Rishikesh

    August 9, 2015 in India ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    I arrived two days ago in the yoga capital of the world which, interestingly enough, was the city that served as The Beatles' spiritual muse for songs released on the White Album and Abbey Road. Since moving into my guesthouse (expensive at $4.80/day), I have thrown myself heels over head into Hatha and Ashtonga yoga courses and have learned a lot about myself: (1) I have the flexibility of a brittle oak branch, (2) my hamstrings are as tight as guitar strings, (3) I have the balance of a teetering toddler. That said, it is easy to see how people stay in Rishikesh for months. Full month and six week yoga instructor training courses are the norm for the many enthusiasts in the town, which sets a relaxed yet committed ambience - for me, it seems a great interesection of whimsical travel culture and dedicated, insightful professionals.Read more