Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    When in Mejico

    May 3, 2023 in Mexico ⋅ ☁️ 82 °F

    After a nice walk away from the ship, including a grueling stretch down the sand beach (in my trainers - ugh)…. Lunch.

    “Flea Market” (aka Tourist Trap shopping)

    Had a nice off ship lunch of tacos de pollo and nachos with a margarita. So can say I’ve done that. Making it even more memorable - this restaurant was playing late 80’s MTV type music video feed on a TV above the “bar”. A little surreal but fun for me.

    Watched Radiance of the Seas pull in while I was sitting in the nearby plaza while resting from my walk.

    Nice to have a cooler day than anticipated, but because it is overcast (don’t mind).

    From what I saw, the only reason to head to Vallarta to “hit the beach” is because you can’t afford or don’t want to spend the time and $’s (likely more significant $’s) to get to Hawaii. Not to disparage, but I can’t imagine choosing to come here for a beach vacation vs Hawaii (and other places). Beach situation was not even close to being on par. That said, it’s not terrible and coming to visit Mexico in general seems fine to me. Though, I did see some pretty heavily armed Guardia Nacional on my walk. A bit of a skin prickler to pass so many automated weapons so close and out in the open, though I knew they were there in part to protect me. Not unlike other places we’ve been.

    Got an opportunity to practice my Spanish some more at lunch. That was fun!

    Back on the ship now. Next stop - LA. ☹️
    Read more