Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Day 07 - Relax, Dont Do It

    April 21, 2022 in France ⋅ 🌧 11 °C

    Lazy days and Sundays! Well this morning was a lazy day despite it being a Thursday. Late getting up and time spent chatting over breakfast and numerous cups of tea and coffee passed a couple of hours.
    Teresa and the Hollywoods decided they fancied a walk, they plumped for a waddle to Laplume which is the nearest village to Roque. Having a rough idea how far it was I was ok with the walk there, but didn’t fancy the walk back afterwards. So I kindly offered to pass on the walk and take the car to Laplume in order to drive them home.
    Plan hatched and agreed the foot soldiers departed just after lunch. I followed about twenty minutes later, with some chores to do at the supermarché and the bank and a planned wait at the cafe.
    I passed the trio on the main road to Laplume, they having made more ground than I had thought they would. I gave them a friendly yell from the window as I passed and continued to Laplume. As I rounded the bend I saw and remembered the road ahead which stretch in a straight line as far as you could see. After giggling to myself I had a little sing to myself of a certain Talking Heads track . . . We’re on the road to nowhere, come on inside . . .
    After a whizz around the supermarché, and unsuccessful stop at the bank ATM I went to secure a seat at a cafe.
    Laplume is not the most busiest of towns on a good day, but early afternoon on a Thursday is particularly bad. Not a thing was open.
    I re-sited to the supermarché car park and sat waiting for the trio who to be fair were quickly trotting through the car park towards me.
    My three flagging passengers were pleased to see me and be driven to Lamontjoie, the next village south from Laplume.
    We quickly found a cafe which to Mr Hollywood’s amusement, had a name and beer brand that were able to play Double Entendre . . . ‘Coq Hardi’ and ‘La Table De La Bastide’.
    The cafe was not at all as we had expected, being very smart and upmarket - almost a fine dining experience with classical piano music. The food looked particularly good and would be well worth another visit on another day.
    On returning to Roque, the sun had made an appearance and so we fired up the BBQ again and spent the afternoon eating and drinking in the warmth of the day.
    We were visited briefly by Monique and Michel together with their grand-daughter, on their arrival home from a few days away.
    The evening continued very much the same before we retired, slightly sad that tomorrow was our last full day.
    Read more