Satellite
Afficher sur la carte
  • Jour 36

    22.10 Day 36 . . . New Arrivals

    22 octobre 2022, France ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    So today was the day Munch (Melissa) arrived for a few days. To say Tre was excited is probably the most understated comment I could make.
    We woke to find the flight was delayed, so calls were made and new collection times arranged.
    Tre and I left at about 9am intending to take a leisurely drive down to Bordeaux in Roxvanne. The weather was glorious and we enjoyed our first hour before stopping to grab a coffee and a slice of quiche pour moi!
    Back on the road - both Roxvanne and myself refuelled we trundled to the airport and after one aborted parking attempt, completed the job on the second circuit of the car parks - me now happy I could get Roxvanne in without can-opening the roof off.
    I was told in no uncertain terms we shouldn’t enter the main terminal as we had to go to the Billie Terminal. After a short and sharp exchange we waddled to Billie. After entering we found no sign of the flight we were awaiting on the arrivals board. Much to Tre’s annoyance I suggested we try the main terminal - as the flight had been delayed. I basked in my glory at the sight of the flight number we needed proudly listed on the arrivals board in the main terminal . . . . I didn’t rub it in for too long 😂
    After about 30 mins the flight had landed and on sighting Munch, Tre bounced on the spot like an excited puppy on a lead and then rushed for the big hug. Munch could not of been made more welcome - it was lovely.
    Back in Roxvanne I mentioned to Tre that I knew she was overly excited and chatty, which I totally understood - but could she just keep an eye on the phone sat nav to make sure I didn’t miss our turn and hit the toll road (our sat nav doesn’t like France so we bounce between the phone and the sat nav).
    Anyhow - as I subsequently approached the toll booths 😡😡😡 I realised we were on an alternative route. To be fair it only cost €12 to arrive at the same destination 10 minutes earlier than the non toll route. That said the route was more scenic so couldn’t complain . . . that much!
    Dropped into SuperU to get foods that Munch would like for the next few days and then trundled back to our place.
    At the airport we had booked a pizza restaurant for the evening booked for 7pm. We arrived at our gite at 5pm, so it was a quick turn around before heading back out.
    We arrived at Chef Boutonne just prior to 7pm and made our way to Jo’s. Pizzas and lasagne (for Tre) ordered up and hurriedly eaten, we decided to have an early night as we were all pooped.
    The drive home was a little longer than normal as I missed the turning, not that Tre or Munch noticed or mentioned it all the remainder of the way home - but we made it in the end.
    Indoors, locked up and off to bed for all of us - with a lazy day planned for tomorrow.
    En savoir plus