Satelliitti
Näytä kartalla
  • Päivä 218

    22.04 Day 218 . . . Our Final Viewing

    22. huhtikuuta 2023, Ranska ⋅ 🌙 11 °C

    Today is the day we go to read the mètres at the Chenay House - so we both woke immediately thinking about it and trying to check we had all the questions ready that we needed to ask.
    Downstairs we had breakfast and I downloaded a load of payslips for all my work last year to send to the French accountant. Downloaded and sent, Tre and I set about replying to the English accountant so that she could sort my tax with UK HMRC - questions such as how many actual days did I work in the Uk between set dates!! Nightmare!! Anyway we got it done and sent.
    I wanted to fly the drone today due to the incredible rapeseed in the fields, but I was having to watch how windy it was.
    Tre cracked on with ironing all the covers from the 3 piece suite she had laundered while I kicked my heels and found a little green bug to photograph out on the patio.
    The southern green shield bug larvae molt five times before they reach their mature size. They are named for their unpleasant scent and are considered pests due to their preference for feeding on leguminous plants such as soybeans. Wasps and flies that parasitize the southern green shield bug are sometimes used as biological controls for its population.
    The adult males can reach a body length (from front to elytral apex) of about 1.2 cm, while females are bigger, reaching a size of about 1.3 cm. The body is bright green and shield-shaped and the eyes are usually reddish, but they may also be black. They differ from the similar green stink bug (Acrosternum hilare) by the shape of their scent gland openings, which are short and wide in Nezara viridula, and narrow and long in the green stink bug. The eggs are barrel-shaped, with an opening on the top.
    Once the wind had died down Is joutes to Tre and we headed out to the end of the lane to fly the Mavic Air.
    Still a little gusty and having not flown it for a while, I struggled to remember all of the imagery settings during the two short flights. On landing the second flight I thought at one point it was coming down due to low battery in the rapeseed field, which would have been a total loss of it. I then nearly clipped a tree when I got it close to home. Next flight will be less adventurous and more re-learning my skills.
    We walked home and I downloaded the footage into the MacBook. I was actually quite pleased with some of the stuff I’d got.
    I pinged a couple of images into Instagram and then shit upstairs to get changed. Tre was already and we needed to leave to get fuel at Sauze before heading to the house.
    At just gone 5pm we were fuelling at Sauze and whilst there went to check the tyre pressures as I now know how to use the French air lines - a little odd to say the least.
    All done Tre and I headed for the house passing the estate agent parked up in a layby, probably killing time.
    We arrived at the house at about 5.50pm ten minutes early and there met the estate agent and Madam Auvin one of the sellers. She had with her, her son and one of his friends.
    We spent some good while at the house checking the location of water stop clocks, electric metres, water points within the street, what the family had and hadn’t left in the house and outbuildings. To say Tre and I weren’t impressed is an understatement - but I won’t go into it. The estate agent agreed that the state of the place was not acceptable. We had a serious conversation and it would appear things will get done before Wednesday - we will see.
    The sun was out and it was a beautiful evening, the house itself and especially the garden looked stunning, if not overgrown.
    It’s all Tre and I actually want - the rubbish the family have left Tre and I will sort . . . We have the time!!
    We finally left being given some assurances and decided rather than go straight home we would go to a bar we’ve meant to visit for ages.
    We drove about ten minutes tops, to Clussais-la-Pommeraie and La Pause d’Ore. once inside we saw that they made and served freshly baked pizzas.
    We ordered a Canabel (Cannibal) pizza and a couple of drinks. The pizza lived up to its name being fairly spicy. With the addition of some chilli oil the owner had provided my mouth was on fire - in a good way. Due to having a very large glass of Leffe Blonde, Tre drive home which took about ten minutes.
    Indoors we had another drink each and continued to discuss the issues with the way the house had been left, but more importantly how pleased we were to have found it and that it will be ours on Wednesday.
    We both went to bed really happy but in my case a little fuzzy headed.
    Lue lisää