Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 221

    25.04 Day 221 . . . Last Full Day Here!

    April 25, 2023 in France ⋅ ☁️ 11 °C

    So today could and should be our last full day here at Chaignepain. We have the day here packing and then the night here.
    The alarm went off at 8.30 but I was awake well before that. Tre was still in the land of zog.
    Once up we breakfasted and then first thing first was to sort the bloody French mobile top up. It took Tre and I another good fifteen minutes this morning before we finally sorted how to input the code number to activate the top up.
    After this is was full on sort out mode. I cracked on with a full deep clean of the pellet burner while Tre did the same to the cooker.
    I then helped Tre get some burnt on residue from the glass door and the metal rings within the cooker. Tre then worked upstairs while I finished off the burner and then started the defrost of the freezer, which fortunately didn’t take that long.
    I got an unexpected call from Russ ‘Benny’ who I had meant to call for about two weeks - I always feel bad if I don’t keep in contact with people. It was good to catch up.
    Whilst having to pop to the van I decided the start Roxvanne to ensure she started. As per yesterday she has a bit of a dodgy battery now and I was worried that when we loaded up yesterday, the lights in the back and cab had been on quite a bit.
    On the first turn of the key I knew all was not good - yep Rox was flat. Definitely not what we needed today.
    I went to speak with Tre who had made lunch, but I wasn’t hungry now thinking about the battery and it’s impact on us over the next few days. After half an hour I tried Rod again - no joy. Fortunately we had a power pack gadget in the van and so we broke that out. I connected it up and Tre turned the key - up she fired. We locked up the Gite and went for an unscheduled drive of the surrounding lanes to give the battery’s charge.
    Once back we got an email from Kate estate agent asking if we had heard anything from the seller who was due to send us some house update photos. We replied nothing received. Waiting on these images had been on mine and Tre’s mind all day, we were started to think tomorrows signing might not be as straight forward as we hoped.
    Tre and I continued for another hour or so packing things away and cleaning. We had a visit from Hannah with some post and we updated her on a couple of issues in the Gite.
    We then got a call from Mr and Mrs Hollywood and at about the same time finally got the photos we had been waiting for all day. The photos were what we needed to see and as a result made us feel a lot more confident about tomorrows signing!
    Once we finished chatting with the Hollywoods we decided to call it a day and Tre got dinner together. We then sat and chilled for the evening - it being our last night sitting on our little sofa here - felt a little odd to be honest.
    Tomorrow is a big day!
    Read more