Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Stopover #2: Hong Kong HKG

    February 4, 2023 in Hong Kong

    Stranded in Hong Kong airport for the day. My first 2 flights were delayed (2.5hr then 1.5hr) and of course the 3rd left on time, without me. 😭

    HKG feels opposite from YVR, energetically. It's also beautiful but in an ultra modern, starkly white modular style. It features interesting art, perfectly manicured gardens (no crazy wild trees in here!), countless sleeping spaces and the whole thing is designed for being plugged in. Lounging spots are as abundant as sleek desktops for working. The washroom doors talk. It's spotless.

    I made some travel buddies on the 14hr flight from Vancouver - those of us who prowled the aisles and hung out in the standing spots. We've been reunited here as Air Canada refugees 😂.

    I've griped about Air Canada for years but but every staffer I've met has provided top shelf service and kindness. When I missed my flight to Hanoi in spite of the efforts of staff and other passengers to get a few of us out of the plane quickly, there was a nice man waiting with a sign with my name as soon as I got out of the tunnel. He explained I'd already been put on the next flight. Then he walked me to the desk for my boarding pass and stayed with me to make sure I got through security ok and knew where to go next. He left me with food vouchers. It's a drag to miss a connection but they made it as as seamless as possible.

    There are some funny practises here such as hidden fees for everything.
    E.g. I ordered some spring rolls (108 HK dollars, or $19, + fees) to go at an airport restaurant.
    Server: OK but we charge 2 dollar for take out.
    Me: OK thanks. Then I'll stay here to eat.
    Server: OK but we charge 10% service fee to eat here.
    🤣
    Read more