Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Ink Addict Tattoos

    March 2, 2023 in Thailand ⋅ ☀️ 33 °C

    So, I did this.

    I knew I wanted a tattoo as a souvenir from my time in Thailand but wasn't sure what to get. None of the symbols associated with Thai culture resonated - elephants, dragons (which i totally love so bought myself a silver dragon pendant), Om, Yin-Yang etc.

    After our day tour in Khoa Sok National Park, one of my favorite activites on this trip, Naila and I were sitting on the upper deck at the Monkey Mansion, sharing quiet time and cocktails, enjoying the sunset and the giant tree in the far distance. It was a sweet time that I'll always remember. We saw the most amazing hanging crescent moon with two bright stars in a line below. I had seen the same thing a couple of nights over the previous week. It disappears shortly after dark. I knew that would be my tattoo.

    On Koh Samui, Naila & Justin met a character who shared that a rare planetary alignment could be seen just after dark. Further research revealed what we'd actually seen was moon, Jupiter, Venus!

    Naila and I went to work finding images and she created my tattoo art! She made 5 versions amd refined until something felt right. My friend Kim provided some great input about the energies associated with these celestial bodies.

    I'm back in Bangkok so Naila set me up with Pam, the woman who did her Everest Base Camp tattoo.

    Tattoos hurt. This was probably an easy place on one's body and it's a small and simple tattoo. I had to do some focused breathing and scroll Instagram for Canadian athlete achievements and cute puppies as distraction. Wimp. I can kind of see why bikers have lots of tattoos - it shows how tough they are. 😆 Seriously, it wasn't that bad. Pam did about 5-10 seconds at a time, then a quick pause. I'm just being dramatic.
    Read more