Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Neiva

    May 19, 2015 in Colombia ⋅ ☀️ 17 °C

    After a long day on the road I finally arrived in Neiva. In Monterrey I got to know Carlos, a really amazing guy from there, which, as soon as I told him that I was going to his town, invited me to stay with his family, even though he is still in Mexico. His uncle picked me up at the bus terminal and brought me to the house of his parents, where I immediately got a arepa rellena (stuffed arepa) and Juanvaleria typical dish of Neiva (plantain mixed with chicharrón), accompanied by gaseosa (a typical drink).
    After the meal, the whole family (mother, father, brother abd his girlfriend) went with me to terms in Rivera, a close-by village. The REALLY hot water comes from a volcano.
    The enormous Colombian hospitality is not only obvious from the fact that they care so much about me and take me everywhere, but even more because they love to do that! They are amazingly happy by showing me around and already invited me and also my parents to come back. This family is really amazing :)
    Read more