Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 51

    Southampton, UK

    October 20, 2017 in England ⋅ 🌧 14 °C

    Another weird, emotionally draining day. I had to get up early for work in the morning (6:00am) but got to leave early at 8:30 to get Jackson (the boyfriend) on the ship with a visitor pass I had gotten him. I however had a meeting so I left him to watch a movie in my cabin. The meeting ended up taking almost two hours. So by the time that was done Jackson and I only had an hour before he had to leave for work. He got to see a bit of the ship and say hi to a few friends. After a very sad, tearful goodbye he left in a taxi to head to work. Then I went back on the ship to also say goodbye to a photographer as well who was headed home.

    We are now going to be heading across the Atlantic for Caribbean season so I headed into Southampton with my friend Ashton (bar steward) to do some much needed grocery shopping and pick up a few other things. Jackson however knew that I was going into Southampton with Ashton and that we would end up at Standing Orders for some food. So when he found out he was starting an hour later then was originally planned he waited there for us to surprise me. So I got to see him one last time. The next time will be when he joins the ship on February 23rd.

    When we were in Standing Orders we got some news. It was up in the air wether either ship would actually sail today as planned. There is a massive storm right in our path with 14 meter swell. So we found out that my ship was now for sure staying but Jackson’s was leaving. They are headed the opposite direction as us so they were going to miss the worst of the storm. Even though we weren’t sailing away from anything the ship still hosted their sail away party on the top deck. I was up there taking photos so I got to see my old ship where Jackson is sail past. My manager had literally told me to forget about the passengers when it was sailing past us that I could go to the front of the ship to see it go past instead. Jackson had told me he was working on the back deck for the sail away but the ship’s were too far apart. The people were the size of ants, so I couldn’t make him out.

    My work shift ended with my manager also telling me that I should be emotional more often. Apparently I had managed to up-sell quite a bit tonight.

    Then after work most of the team had already gone out in Southampton but I was too exhausted to find them and do anything so Monixa (Photographer) and I had a girls night on the ship instead. She was IPM and couldn’t get off and it’s her New Year’s so we went to one of the restaurants for dinner. I had my usual steak which was amazing as always.

    Now I’m completely exhausted so it’s time for some sleep.
    Read more