Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Alesund, Norway

    July 17, 2019 in Norway ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    My favourite day of the cruise so far. One year ago today Jackson and I hiked up to a waterfall in Flam, Norway where he proposed. We then hiked back down for some lunch. So today Ruby, Jackson and I got up bright and early to hiking up the 418 steps to the Ålesund viewpoint. After taking lots of photos at the top we made our way back down and back to the ship. Jackson and I then got changed and headed to Glasshouse for lunch. He was not able to get deck privileges this cruise but they said he could go for lunch with me. He then however had to go to work so Ruby and I had great naps after getting up so early and climbing the stairs. We woke up just in time to go up to the sail away. This is the last time Azura will be docking in Ålesund this year so well we were sailing they fired a cannon and a ship followed us out giving a water salute. The smaller ship was trying to have a horn blowing competition with Azura and Azura however is much bigger and louder. Ruby really enjoyed seeing/hearing the two ships.
    Jackson and I were still determined to have dinner together though so we decided to make it work with room service. Ruby and Jackson both ordered Chicken Tikka Masala with Carmalised Apple and Hazelnut Crumble Tart for Ruby and I ordered Southern Fried Chicken and Banoffee Chocolate cake to share with Jackson. Which Jackson did not tell us though is that he was having roses and cake delivered to the cabin. So we ended up with a lot of desert but I was a great surprise.
    The only thing left tonight is we are going to go see Tolkien on the sea screen on the top deck. We decided to go to the later show so it’ll be darker.
    Read more