Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 55

    Cape Reinga - King of the North

    November 21, 2016 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 10 °C

    So I drove all the way up to the top of the top of the island, the northernest point of New Zealand: Cape Reinga.
    Its a really cool place, as you drive up there and suddenly you find yourself surrounded by sanddunes and youre asking yourself how the heck you ended up in the desert? And you keep driving and eventually you reach cape reinga, all green again, ocean on one side, hills on the other! So a really diverse but beautiful spot!

    And yes, of course I had to take one of these famous pictures with those signs around the world - couldnt resist! But to be honest I didnt find it that special and I was surrounded by tons of tourists that wanted to do the same so we left pretty quickly again...

    Oh and yes, I do look like a red tomato as I got a horrible sunburn on matai beach as I forgot my suncream at home and here in New Zealand you cant really leave the house without it! 🔥
    Read more