Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    La Rambla Palma de Mallorca - No Skase

    July 16, 2018 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 30 °C

    Catastrophe starts the day with Bux sweeping my camera into her clothing draw without realising, it's a tense half hour of ripping the room apart before we discover it. If I wasn't already sold on leaving the kids on the boat today, I am now!

    Gab & I are dropped off across from the cathedral on the waterfront. The sun seems to have sync'd our clocks with Dad who has decided to come off at the same time as us, we meet him in the markets out the front and take a stroll up towards the shopping precinct.

    We stumble across Forn Fondo, a Pasteleria famous for their Ensaïmada, but we don't realise their significance at the time. A breakfast pastillo (looks like a mini-empanada) for me and an Estrella (from Gallicia) and I'm ready for the day. Gab thinks she's found heaven in their Meringue, but there's no doubt I won :)

    We walk up La Rambla towards a shopping precinct, the time away from the kids is working, Gab doesn't want to look at the shops apart from a few cushion covers. Another refreshing cervesa and Dad decides to head back to the ship while Gab and I press on. Jam & Queso Croissant for snack at Horna Santa Cristo, another store famous for their Ensaïmada, but we're still oblivious. It was only bested by the lady busking Nessun Dorma, couldn't decide if she was either a lip-sync prodigy or Pavarotti re-incarnate.

    Time to make up for not getting to Bimba Y Lola while it was open during the San Fermin festival, we back track through some allies to find their Palma store, some wonderful open foyers in some of these villas. My cold is re-brewing, time for some garlic prawns while Gab shops Bimba Y Lola.

    We're heading to the produce markets, Mercat de Santa Catalina, the streets around it are packed with little eateries, the market is wrapping up the day, but we find a pintxos bar, perfect!

    Back on board, we catch up with everyone in Signals. One of Gab's new friends introduces me to a vodka lemon drop. Its 5pm, and that's the last drink I can take until well after 10. In fact it takes me two Monsters just to make it all the way to the farewell show.

    While I was trying to find some energy, Fid was awarded the best gamer on the boat.

    There are tears everywhere at the farewell, I can see Bux and her big red eyes from the balcony. A few moe drinks with Dad while we wait for the photo package to be ready then we're off to bed. Fid is already waiting for us, Bux doesn't show up until 2am - we'll have some meltdowns tomorrow!
    Read more