Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 183

    Day of the Dead beer

    November 5, 2015 in Mexico ⋅ 🌙 16 °C

    After a lie-in we went to a small place called Lemoncito by the main square for breakfast. Anna had 3 pancakes with nutella AND maple syrup. I had a huge bowl of fruit with yog and granola, of which I swapped a bit for a yummy pancake. With coffee, and Jamaica tea for me, it was only 60P each.

    As we were walking to breakfast, Anna noted she had a scratch on her sunglasses. I commented that we'd done very well to last our whole travels without breaking them...less than a minute later, as I went to take them off inside, mine suddenly snapped for no apparent reason!!! Luckily I have some fetching blue tape so they'll hopefully survive the last fortnight. My flip-flops are also on their last legs :( As are most of my clothes!

    It was a bit overcast so we had a very lazy day of swinging in the hammock in our room and reading. We ventured out for an ice cream and cheetos but that was about it. As it brightened up I went to lie on the beach for some late afternoon sun. Anna came out to join me an hour later and the sun promptly disappeared! We went for a long walk along the beach and then as the sun went down we used the wifi which is only available in the common areas and were attacked by mozzies :( I think they are worse here than Utila!

    We went to the same place for dinner. I had quesadillas, Anna had a sort of Mexican fondue which was essentially a massive load of cheese, some bacon and soft tacos.

    We tried the only ATM on the island but it was broken. We then found the holy grail of beer for Anna, a Day of the Dead Porter beer! She was very very excited!!
    Read more