Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Camino de Santiago - Foncebadon

    September 28, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    Foncebadon has the reputation for being the home of rabid dogs - but that's not true! I've seen more cats since I stopped for the night at Albergue La Cruz de Fierro. A tough day at the end - some 25kms walked today, with the terrain rising steadily to an elevation typically shrouded in mist or buried in deep snow. Had planned to save 6kms and stop at Rufugio Guacelmo, but even though it is operated by the kind hospitaleros associated with the Confraternity of Saint James in the U.K. I chose to walk on to be near the Cruz de Ferro early in the morning (see separate post - tomorrow or 29 Sept depending on when your reading this. It was a decision I was regretting near the end. My left hip is very painful and was weak and unstable on the last climbs. Some pain killers, shed the weight and it has eased. Yes, I will be careful !!!! Guess it's the cost of a total hip displacement some years ago. Now showered, washing done and drying, I'm relaxing and will go for some dinner about 6pm (5pm Uk). And then an early night and out early in the morning. Plan to walk to Ponferrada (24kms) tomorrow.Read more