Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Sarria and the last day with Franz

    October 4, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    Today Franz and I walked our last day together. Setting out from Samos in usual good spirits (in the dark) we passed through the small hamlets of Foxos; Teiguin; and then selected the choice of going through Calvor (to avoid walking along the road to Sarria) today would be our last day together. Franz would meet his wife in Sarria and together they would finish the Camino. Stopping at Sarria for one last cafe con leche (coffee with milk) together at the Hotel Alfonso IX where I guess Franz and his wife will enjoy slightly better hospitality than at an Albergue (although as Franz told me "no swimming pool !" Well Franz if we ever meet again, my Albergue de Barbadelo has one here!!
    Sarria holds the record for the most Albergues in one town. As the last city before the minimum 100km point set by the Catholic church to be eligible to receive the Compostela. But it didn't inspire me to stop, after yesterday's disappointment I wanted something more rural. So...I find myself in Barbadelo (with a pool). Barbadelo, small as it is, once housed a monastery on 874. The Albergue de Barbadelo is new and well equipped (oh did I say it's got a pool 😎). Don't know what I'll have for dinner tonight, and tomorrow is a slightly longer walk to Portomarin tomorrow (21km). And, I hope wearing my boots loose will get me there without pain, if not there's always my sandals to the rescue.
    As one friendship parts, tonight is for contemplation reflection and being alone. X
    Read more