Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    O Pedrouzo (Arca do Pino)

    October 8, 2017 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 18 °C

    So today was my penultimate day of walking. I covered a simple and relatively short twenty one kilometres today. Not a particularly early start (although the room lights went on at 6am and following a chorus of annoyance went straight off again) I emerged from my bed at 7.15!!! A veritable lie-in. Breakfast of toast, marmalade, coffee, and orange juice, this pilgrim was ready for the road. The small group of pilgrims whom had loosely walked together yesterday were seeking solitary space today. I was very happy as I wanted to be alone too today. Always passing people (or being passed by others) with a smile and Buen Camino, I was very happy in my own pace and space. I arrived in O Pedrouzo at about 2.30 and was surprised to be the first pilgrim at the Albergue R.E.M. A modern Albergue with lights and power points at every bed - a luxury on the Camino. Tomorrow (all things going well and no issues) I should arrive at Santiago, and see for the first time why I started this journey last September. The Camino between O Pedrouzo and Santiago is a mixture of rural and urban settings, with some forests to give pilgrims a little shelter. The daily ascents and descents continue to the end with a reported gain/loss of +308 / -339, a not insignificant amount.
    But it will all be worth it to see the Cathedral spires, to receive my Compostela certificate, and to see the women I love. X
    Read more