Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 619

    Nothing Burger

    September 23, 2019 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    We always laugh at my mom for the story of her visiting Delicate Arch years back and having to crawl on her hands and knees, being so afraid of the heights. Yesterday Brice and I finally went back to Arches to do that same hike and test out how ridiculous she might have been. Is it actually a “nothing burger” as she likes to say or was she right to be afraid?

    About half way up the massive rock, we saw the trail become more narrow with a steep slope on its left. “Ahh I bet that’s where she started panicking.” A few minutes later, around the curve there was the top. The slick rock drops down and bam, there’s Delicate Arch. Beautiful formation with lovely views surrounding it. The path wasn’t so large at that point and I could finally understand my mom’s concerns.

    I wasn’t too phased though and was determined to be like the other tourists getting a photo under the arch. Brice, more like my mom, was getting a little unnerved at this point and decided, nope heading down. Fortunately other tourists were more than happy to take my photo for me 😜
    Read more