Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Winter came back

    April 18 in North Macedonia ⋅ 🌨 -1 °C

    Woke up in the middle of the night because of a thunderstorm. I had to go out and secure my tent with more tent pegs. My fault, should have done this right away.

    The morning was bitter cold with -2 degrees and it was still raining. I had breakfast and went back to my tent hoping for the weather forecast to be true - warmer temperature and less rain in an hour.
    After half an hour or so, I woke up and opened my tent. Everything was covered in snow. What!? Okay, I need to get off this mountain as quick as possible. The road was covered in snow too. To my surprise, my tires did a great job uphill as well as downhill.
    I made it down and met Barbara. We were both amused as we share the same trouble. She still had to cycle up that mountain. Hope you made it to the other side!

    Annoyingly, the dogs in North Macedonia seem to be very active too. They tirelessly chased me down the road a couple of times. They were big and faster than me. I had no other choice but to stop. Otherwise they would‘ve crossed my direction and I had hit them with my front wheel. That would have been a disaster for me and the dog. My method worked pretty well and they soon had lost interest. It’s not that I’m afraid of them, such situations are just super annoying.
    I only spent one day cycling in North Macedonia and I know that this country has so much more to offer. But the weather forecast is lousy and I prefer warmer climate for now. Maybe next time!
    Read more