Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Flight to Frankfurt

    September 16, 2017 in Canada ⋅ ⛅ 0 °C

    After months and months of planning, we finally departed for our trip to Europe. After a lovely "Uber" drive to the airport from Kelly (thanks Dad!), we got through security like a breeze and made a couple of quick calls to our mothers to say goodbye (Love you both!).

    Right before boarding we were a bit peckish, so we grabbed a butter chicken poutine (sounds great right?). Scarfed that down while waiting to board and then we were getting settled in our premium economy seats. Very spacious with lots of leg room and wide seats, amazing! Now even before taking off, I started to notice some heartburn, probably from the butter chicken poutine. That proceeded to last the whole flight. And we haven't even had any German food or beer yet!

    Now I have really been looking forward for this flight for awhile, primarily because I brought along my Nintendo Switch game console (can go from TV to portable mode), which meant I got to play a lot of Zelda on the flight!

    Dinner was a chicken and rice pilaf, with salad and chocolate cake. The wife of the couple beside us dumped her whole beef tenderloin onto her husbands plate and he demolished both (also looked like he does that regularly)

    Shortly after dinner service, Brooke's game plan was to start getting in the sleeping mode. But first we played this cooperative cooking video game that we both really got into. Afterwards Brooke got cozied up for a long nap (and I kept playing Zelda). Brooke was restless and could not drift off to sleep. I suggested putting on a movie to doze off to. She selected Good Will Hunting (I'm still playing Zelda). A while ago we had actually watched that movie with Gail, but Brooke fell asleep in the first 10 minutes. Now on the flight, she remembers that and is now actually getting into it. At that point we realized that we forgot something in Calgary, Brooke's super power of falling asleep anywhere. Finally I suggested she watch me play Zelda for a bit, and then she was out in 15 minutes (not that it's a boring game, she loves it).

    Brooke was finally fully out, and I was having a great time playing Zelda (also was doing a bit of a different game as well). Sometime when we were between Iceland and U.K., I decided that maybe I should try to get some sleep since there was only 2.5 hours left in the flight. It was great, I got a solid 20 minutes! (I was actually woken up by the breakfast service, which I did not expect). After the light breakfast, I could tell that I wast going to fall back asleep, so what did I do.........read a book........NOT.......played Metroid! (Brooke was able to get another solid hour nap in).

    We landed in Frankfurt and hustled our way through customs (no issue). Then found the security line which was incredibly slow. Really made the new international terminal at YYC look amazing. Got through security and made it to our gate with enough time for a quick washroom break, and then they were ready to board.

    Taxing on the runway now. Munich, here we come!

    Tyler & Brooke
    Read more