Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 93

    Victoria, Mahe, Seychelles

    March 20, 2015, Indian Ocean ⋅ ⛅ 46 °F

    March 19th.
    25 years ago I picked up a copy of “Islands”magazine and became entranced with the Seychelles in the Indian Ocean. Since then, I have tried many times to concoct a way of getting there. There were always a couple of things standing in the way; 1-it is a bit pricey to get there from just about any starting point and 2-it is about as far from home as you can possibly get. So, I have built this visit up in my mind for a very long time and, as we got closer to our stop there, I worried that I was setting myself up for disappointment. Could it possibly be as good as I had imagined for all these years?
    It was.
    It was simply the most beautiful island with the prettiest water and plant life that I have ever seen. Swimming in the lovely waters of the Indian Ocean while gazing at a distant island and seeing brightly-colored boats bobbing nearby was a moment I will remember always. The beaches are lined with huge, granite boulders that add to the drama and mystique of the island.
    Now the next quest is to find a way to go back there someday!
    The first photo is off the beach on the Seychelles
    The second photo is some of the gorgeous granite boulders long the beach.
    The third photo is of me happily swimming in the Indian Ocean.
    Read more