Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Tarangire National Park

    May 19, 2023 in Tanzania ⋅ ☁️ 29 °C

    I booked a two day Safari with the hotel I was staying in. Normally safaris start from the town Arusha, which was 80 kms away from Moshi, so Ans drove me at 06 am towards the office of the organizer of the trip.
    At 08 am, I hopped on a Safari 4x4 vehicle I had only seen in the movies. We picked up 5 other people, all happened to be french ladies, and we head off to the Tarangire National Park.
    We drove for about two hours before reaching the park, setting the expectations higher and higher every minute that passed by.
    Inside the park, during the first hour and a half, we saw Impalas and one elephant being observed by a lion. However, this was very far away, and I was getting a bit discouraged.
    The tour guide said we will go to a place where there is a river, hoping we could see more animals. I was skeptical; until we reached the highest point of a hill and looked to the right. There was a family of elephants heading towards the river, and started bathing in it. It was blissful. I felt like being in the Jungle Book, when Mowgli is part of the herd. From then onwards the day kept getting better. We got closer to them, and were surrounded by giraffes and baby elephants. We saw the senior elephants taking care of the babies while they were asleep, and it was such a special moment. I felt we are so similar. These strong immense animals have such a kind heart and are willing to protect their community and work together as a family.
    We continued driving around the park, with astonishing views of the African savannah, which made me remember how much I love being in nature.
    Read more