Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Bangkok > Chiang Mai

    November 5, 2022 in Thailand ⋅ ☀️ 84 °F

    Well, I’m off. Got out of the house this morning by 9:45. I ordered a GRAB last night, and paid extra for a nicer car. Here, that translates to better A/C and more space for your stuff. I had just grabbed my stuff and was sitting on the house steps putting on my shoes, when this sleek black ( oh good lord, at 1st I thought it was a Mercedes) 4 door pulls up with dark tinted windows. It looked very out of place in our little “soi”. Kinda like those Asian mafia generalizations you see in the movies. The big guy shows up on a tiny local street in a super nice car. 🤦‍♀️
    Thank goodness it was a Camry, and he took my bags as I locked the metal door and took my final bag of garbage across the street to put in the trash can. The ride took about 35 minutes and was nice and cool. I had thought about taking public transport, and I’m glad I just took GRAB. It’s easier, cooler and not as exhausting. So I’m sitting here with an iced coffee, people watching and waiting for my flight.
    Read more