Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    A river, a market and a festival

    November 5, 2022 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 84 °F

    So I’m in Chiang Mai and settled into my new apt. I flew AirAsia and it was pretty good. I got the premium flex which costs more, but they let you change your flight date and time 2x which I ended up doing. Funny, with this ticket , they feed you. Now it’s an hour flight. I don’t need to be fed, but as soon as they reached cruising altitude, they started handing out meals with a ferocity I have never seen. Then I looked around and everyone is scarfing them down. And literally in 10 minutes, they are collecting the food trays because we are starting our descent. Lol, so I’m going to see if I can amend the meal on the flight back. I don’t think I can take that kind of pressure again.
    So the apt is really cool. It isn’t as well stocked as the one in Bangkok, but then again it was 1/2 the price. It gave me an excuse to go buy soap, a sponge, and trash bags. Thank goodness Google translate has a camera, where you take a picture of something and it translates it. So there I am in the mini-mart taking pictures of dish soap. But I got it!
    So I walked back to the apt, and walked the other way, figuring, since it was getting dark, the street vendors should be setting up. And holy moly!
    I stumbled onto the night market that I had saved on Google maps. Wow. Everything you could ever want, right there. And it’s only about a 5 minute walk from my apt.
    I’m here for 6 nights. There is a festival that starts Monday, where they release lanterns in the sky and create flower offerings and send them down the river ( that my apt overlooks) in thanks that the monsoon season is over. They also have 3 nights of parades, and the parade goes right by this apt! And I have a wonderful balcony. I knew this place was a score, that’s why I reserved it back in March. I also have an appointment to get a tattoo on Monday. I found a guy and I liked his stuff and he had availability. 😁
    I’m reading “The Beach” right now. I saw the movie back in the day. But the book is really very good so far.
    So I got some fruit for dinner and something wrapped in a banana leaf ( that I will be sure to show you guys). I’m still watching Friends, and it’s been a long day. This apt only has a/c in the bedroom, but it has a big ass rotating fan in the living room. And this place is meant for hot weather. Slick tile floors, cross ventilation and jalousie windows with very good screens. The bedroom cooled off immediately with the a/c so that will be nice. Anyway, it kinda gives me an excuse not to move to fast. I am on vacation after all.
    Read more