Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Osaka

    November 9, 2023 in Japan ⋅ ☁️ 66 °F

    It seems that the head cold I still carry with me is a global one. I’m hearing lots of sniffling and coughing here in Japan as well. I brought masks with me, assuming everyone would be wearing them. The business men are. They can’t afford to get sick. I was surprised , at the concerts there were very few people wearing them. It’s nice to be in crowds of people again. But now we all have the same cold.
    I had breakfast downstairs this morning. And true to form, I forgot my phone to take a picture of the amazing food. It was even better than the last hotel. I have been waking up feeling rough, and put on t—shirt , pants and birks, try to not make my hair look to rumpled and shuffle downstairs to eat. Hot miso soup is doing wonders for my throat (especially 1st thing in the am) and the food is whole, healthy and nutritious. I discover last night that one of my pillows is a buckwheat pillow. It has a firm consistency yet you can adjust it to your liking. And they have nice thick fluffy duvets on the beds. No top sheet. The beds are firmer but my body is definitely liking it.
    I am really enjoying this alone time. I miss my Mom and all my animals at home, but I really feel like I’m getting recharged and am able to rest as well on this trip. Maybe the bad cold is a blessing. It is making me go to bed earlier and the 20 minute nap on the train yesterday was lovely.
    So generally, Foreign visitors take the Shinkansen from Tokyo to Kyoto. It’s the cultural capital and about 30 minutes from Osaka. But it’s really over touristed right now. So much so that I decided to bypass it and see Osaka. I am flying out of here tomorrow anyway. I wanted to see the Osaka castle and a museum of history near by. There is also a shopping/entertainment/food part of town called Dotonburi ; I wanted to check out and there was a Don Quixote store there too. Don Quixote is called the “Walmart of Japan”. Without the clothes. It’s supposed to be amazing and I wanted to check it out. I figured I’d start there, and work my way back to the castle.
    Now it’s November, but it has been 80 degrees every day since I got here. It does cool down at night. But I literally have been wearing t-shirts and the quick dry pants I brought for Taiwan. Somebody needs to let the Japanese people know you don’t dress for the weather you wish you had, you dress for the weather you are in. I’m seeing people in sweaters, tights, jackets, wool hats, puffy vests. I really noticed it today here in Osaka.
    I get it. Fall fashion is better. The stores are full of it. Japan seems very fashion conscious. Bit I’m from Fl, and I’m in a t shirt and light pants. They must be sweating their asses off. But they sure look good.
    So apparently this area is best visited at night. So during the day, It just looked kinda seedy. Streets lined with bars, nightclubs and restaurants may look mysterious and cool at night, but look sad and kinda stinky in the light of day..
    I found the Din Quixote and OMG. It was 6 floors and had everything. I really enjoyed taking my time and looking at everything.
    But this cold is kicking my ass. And I didn’t have any fluids with me and I was starting to feel worse for the wear. I knew I needed to eat and get some fluids in me. And hot liquids would be even better.
    So I finished up and started back up the street. I passed a place called Kura. It’s a conveyor belt sushi restaurant and it was on my list to do. I also knew I could get hot tea miso soup and a good meal. Which would help me to feel better.
    I saw this place on a YouTube video, and the guy walks you through how to do everything.
    I also have been using Google translate more and more. You just open the camera up on the app, and it translates what is on the screen. And Google Translate does very well in translating Japanese. So I was able to figure it out. That and I really wanted to sit down and eat.
    I have some pictures and a video showing that experience. It was delicious and I’m probably going to go back tomorrow before I go to the airport.
    After lunch, I felt better but was tired. I had also used Google Translate to get some Japanese cold medicine. I still have my own I brought, but wanted to get reinforcements. I got a couple of things, and funny enough, it is all eastern herbal medicine except the nasal spray. I made very sure I wasn’t buying a bunch of random meds then taking it all together.
    So I headed home. No interest in the castle or museum. And by the time I got home at 3pm I was done for the day. I stopped off at 7-11 and got an egg salad sandwich and a gigantic bottle of water. I’m going to pack tonight and watch a movie on my iPad. I’ve started watching Studio Ghibli movies (All on Netflix) and listening to the soundtracks while I’ve been here. I’m in the middle of watching Spirited Away. The music to this movie is enchanting and is amazing to listen to on the Shinkansen looking out the window as the scenery rolls by.
    I believe I have discovered a new happy place.
    Read more