Satelital
Mostrar en el mapa
  • Día 14

    Homeward Bound

    17 de noviembre de 2023, Japón ⋅ 🌧 54 °F

    Spending the night at the airport hotel the night before a flight is one of the kindest things I can do for myself when I travel.
    I spent the night at the one of the Haneda airport hotels. It is directly attached to the International flight terminal.
    Once I had navigated Tokyo Station and got to the airport, I popped out right where I had began. I saw where I had stood in line to get my JR pass. I bought dinner at the 7-11 where I had picked up my Coldplay tickets ( Egg salad sandwich, shrimp flavored chips[I discovered those in Thailand and LOVE them] and Pocky sticks-dark chocolate ) and laughed out loud when I followed the sign to the hotel and it was so close.
    My flight left Tokyo at 10:55 am, so I got up the next morning, was up, dressed and down to breakfast by 7am. I found on this trip, to get up first thing, eat; get food and hot fluids in me, and I would feel better.
    So I was able to have a dare I say, relaxing morning before my flight.
    Japan Air premium economy is great. Headphones, slippers, blanket , pillow, good food, miso soup, hot green tea, good movies and seats that recline within a shell, so you don’t bother the person behind you.
    So I ate slept, watched a movie, ate, slept some more and ate again, then we landed here in Dallas. I have some time , so I went to the Centurion lounge for breakfast. I know I said at the beginning of the trip that I wasn’t that impressed, but I have changed my mind. It’s a nice respite after a flight, to be able to sit down in a comfortable chair, get a plate of food, something to drink, take a shower “, charge your phone, and breathe.
    This trip was really something different for me. There is so much more I wanted to do. But I realized I really had to slim down my itinerary and my expectations for what I could and couldn’t do. I realized very quickly I couldn’t do a full day then go see Coldplay. Coupled with the fact that I have been trying to manage a nasty head cold the entire trip, I was just going to have to prioritize.
    I wish I could have gotten better pictures of Toyko at night. But by the time the concerts were over, I was exhausted. I also realized by heading up to the Far reaches of Northern Japan, I was going to have to give up a few extra days in Tokyo. I wanted to see a different part of Japan. A part that was off the beaten track. lol, I definitely went there.
    So I will sleep in my own bed tonight. I can’t wait to see Cookie and the kitties. And Mom of course.
    Leer más