Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Return to the city

    May 12, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 22 °C

    Day 11 - Return to the city

    We had some french toast with blueberry syrup and maple syrup for breakfast. What a great way to start the day. I would be leaving Canada today. It made me a bit sad since I've been treated with so much kindness here. On the other hand, I really did miss New York already and I couldn't await getting back. We said goodbye at the airport. I had never flown so often in such a short amount of time before. However, I don't think flying will ever lose its magic for me. I caught my connecting flight in Toronto and thanks to the perfect weather, I was even able to see Niagara Falls from the plane. Immigration at Newark took ages and Immigration-lady kept piercing me with questions for quite some time. What I was doing for a living. What I was doing here and in Canada. Where I knew my friends from. If one of them was my boyfriend. If I had a return ticket, and if either of the two paid for it. She was clearly weirded out by the idea of me flying to a different continent to meet people I only knew from the internet. To be fair, I couldn't blame her. It was 5pm when I was finally done at the airport. Since I didn't want to pay 80 bucks for an uber, I asked the guy to simply take me to a metro stop and I'd find my way back to Matt's. Driving in NYC must be annoying as hell. You're standing more than you're driving and the amount of honking is incredible. Eventually we made it into town and I got some falafel before hopping onto the metro. It was half past 6 by the time I made it back to Matt's apartment. The sun was shining and Matt was ecstatic about the great weather since it had been raining the entire time while I had been gone. It seems like I picked the right day to return to the city. After taking a short break at his place, we headed back into Manhattan and got some Sri Lankan food and a few beers from the store right below the Sri Lankan place. I'd never had Sri Lankan food before, but I'm definitely adding it to my diet. Once we made it back to his apartment, we played the children's game on Canadian geography that I got at the bushplane museum in Sault (he won) before going to bed.Read more