Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Nightlife

    May 13, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    Day 12 - Nightlife

    The day started with some breakfast tacos around the block. Man, have I missed NYC. It started raining the moment I arrived at the metro station but I wasn't going to let that change my plans for the day. I wanted to go to Hoboken in Jersey City. Technically, I had been in New Jersey the day before since I arrived at Newark, but I wasn't counting that. Luckily, it wasn't raining in Jersey when I arrived. I walked along the waterfront and got a beautiful view of Manhattan's skyscrapers being covered in clouds. First time in the US and I got 3 states covered, that wasn't too bad, I would say. I got on a train back to New York and started walking around Manhattan. The rain had stopped again by this time. My plan was to walk from tattoo parlour to tattoo parlour until I found one that would do a walk-in today. During my walk, I had my Good Vibes playlist running and sang along to myself a little. I got a fair amount of streets covered that way. After being unlucky at a few places, I found an artist who said she'd give me a call in the evening. I then headed to the 9/11 Memorial Museum. This was the grimmest and most depressing experience of my trip. I was alive when this happened. It feels so recent. Right outside the museum was the Smorgasburg Food Market where I got myself some empanadas and guaraná soda. I then continued my walk around the streets of Manhattan, trying to stick to spots I had not been to yet, which wasn't much of a challenge. At around 4pm, I decided to head back to Matt's apartment to relax a little. The tattoo artist hit me up and we agreed that she would tattoo me on the day after. We then went to a Korean BBQ place near Empire with one of Matt's friends. This was my first time trying Korean BBQ. It was on the pricey side, but definitely worth it. This was one of my favourite dishes in North America so far, and frankly, at this point, I've had a lot. The three of us continued to a rooftop bar a few blocks down and enjoyed some very expensive drinks before getting some beers and chilling at Washington Square Park. The place was incredibly busy, but I guess on a Friday night, that was to be expected. Partying in NYC is very hectic, but in a good way. There's just so much energy in this city. We hit another bar but only stayed for one drink because it was crowded as hell. After that, I can't really remember what happened. According to Matt, I smoked a joint and we went to a café where I passed out. We then tried getting a cab which didn't work and walked back to the metro instead where we saw people having a fight, screaming at and punching each other. Our drunken selves found that to be pretty hilarious. We made it back to Matt's at around 3am. We made some trashy instant ramen and ate leftover breakfast tacos before calling it a day.Read more