Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Haifa

    July 12, 2023 in Israel ⋅ ☀️ 30 °C

    I took the train from HaHagana station to Haifa in the morning, where George picked me up with his car to go back to his family's apartment. We had breakfast together at his balcony and watched memes together before heading out so that he could show me his city. We drove up to a viewpoint on top of the mountain that gave us a beautiful sight of the sea and the city. Then we went to look at the temple and the centre of the city, ironically called the "German part" which does not even closely resemble anything in Germany. Afterwards we went to the beach where I unfortunately lost my moon meteorite ring and drank some beers together. Then we went to a café where I got some cold ginger, honey and turmeric drink and we discussed how he might best get the number of the waitress there that he has a crush on. Unfortunately, we also saw a starving kitten there. I've seen way too many unfed and uncared for animals both here and in Jordan and it kind of breaks my heart. We drove back to his place, on the way to which I learned a lot more Arabic swearing thanks to Geroge's road rage, to eat dinner with his family. This was finally the first time since I went to the Middle East that I ate European food since his mum made ravioli. George then gave me some stuff to help with the countless wounds I had gathered on the soles of my feet by now. Afterwards, we played music together. Well, he played some, I just tried to. He drove me to the station to catch my train back to Tel Aviv on which I almost fell asleep. Back at the hostel, I sat down in the garden with some beer before calling it a night.Read more