Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 108

    Last day in London

    July 7, 2022 in England ⋅ ⛅ 70 °F

    Miles: 11 Steps: 30546
    Flights stairs: 26

    Today was a rough day - a block from our hotel, right as we left, I took a tumble. The sidewalks in most countries are cobblestone, brick or slate slabs and they’re not flat like in the US. There’s lots of edges to catch your feet on. We seem to trip all the time but are always able to catch ourselves. Not today. I went down hard, wasn’t able to get my hands up and hit the side of my head on the bricks. Pretty scary. Very nice people in London - many came running and one guy was going to call an ambulance. Jordan stopped him.

    In the end just banged up - my shoulder, both knees, the side of my face … headaches, dizzy and a little nauseous - pretty sure I’m concussed, but I’ll live. Reminded me too much of my parents falling in their later years - Felt very old today. It made the rest of the day somewhat of a struggle in every way.

    We went to Westminster Abbey. It was beautiful, tho I was surprised (and slightly bothered) by the MANY tombs everywhere. Kind of crazy. Then we took a train out to Windsor Castle - it’s huge and very impressive. We came back and went to the “View from the Shard” for sunset on the 72nd floor - cause I just like to go up high to see sunsets in cities. 😃 and then took a boat ride on the Thames river to see the city at night.

    Didn’t get back to our hotel till we’ll after midnight - exhausting, beat up kind of day, but still nice in the end.
    Read more