Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 193

    Da Nang

    September 30, 2022 in Vietnam ⋅ 🌧 79 °F

    The weather has cleared some, airports and trains have reopened - so we headed out from Hanoi today to resume our schedule. We flew to Da Nang which is in central Vietnam, and is where the eye of the typhoon went over. We were supposed to be here a few days, but the storm had other ideas so now unfortunately just here one night.

    One thing I really wanted to see here was the Dragon Bridge. It’s a bridge with a dragon intertwined in it - the pics I had seen were fantastic. They light it up at night, and on the weekends it “breathes fire”. But the weather here is still pretty rough, but Jordan and decided to go see it anyways.

    They use “Grab” here, like Uber - but it’s not real reliable. So a lot of times you want to hire a car but there just aren’t any. Tonight was like that. So we decided to walk down to the river and see if we could see the dragon from a small distance. Once we got out a ways, the sky’s opened up and a HUGE thunderstorm began, that actually went on to last for many hours.

    It was pretty disappointing at the river. We could barely make out the dragon as much as we tried. I found some pics online to show what I missed. 😢

    This storm is something else tho. Rained in buckets. And … even tho we’re in one of the nicest hotels yet, as I was going to bed I felt something on my leg and looked down … and it was a GIANT cockroach! Probably 2-3” long. I’ve seen some big ones in South Carolina, but this was the biggest I’ve ever seen. We killed it, but dang … they moved us to a new room but … I’m sure they’re probably everywhere. Actually surprised we haven’t had any insect issues yet to be honest considering where we are and the climate. So now up, unable to go to sleep. 😳

    2.6 miles
    Read more