Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    Santiago de Compostella

    June 9, 2018 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 13 °C

    Up early once again so that we could have breakfast and go for mass. Surprise surprise cheese and ham on the menu. Continental breakfast is all that is offered in most of the places, so get used to it if your travelling to this part of the world.

    The English mass was very very nice. I did the first reading, and an American lady did the second reading. The sermon was really nice, as yesterday was the feast of the Sacred Heart of Jesus, and today it was of the Sacred Heart of the Virgin Mother. He connected the dots in his sermon. Then when it came to doing the prayers of the faithful he asked the congregation to come and light a candle and offer the intention spoken loudly. It was very touching. It was only for those who wanted to do it. At the start we were also asked to introduce our selves. Very nice. He is a Philipino priest.

    After mass we checked out of our shared room into my single room as Shyama was going back to SL. She wanted to do some shopping, so we spent our time shopping untill she needed to be back at the monestry where we were staying. The taxi was on time and she was winging her way to get to the airport. So now there is one. We had walked the way, supported each other over the last 2 weeks or so, prepared and planned it for a longer time. And it was all over rover now. Back to SL for her and for me a few more days in SDC and then onwards with the rest of my holiday. I was flying to Lisbon to meet with Colin, who was flying from NZ, and then celebrate St Anthony's feast in his Home town.

    Tonight off for dinner, met the young Sri Lankan seminarians this evening as I was on my way down for a walk. Asked if he and his friend would like me to take them out for dinner. He thought it was a great idea. Also had a call from Otterly Shans friend, she is coming into Santiago de Compostella tomorrow. She also has been walking, but doing a much longer walk than yours truly. It is is going to be very nice to have a catch up, and compare and contrast experiences.

    Mini me here has also been doing some sourvernia shopping. Got me a lovely bracelet with 4 charms. All pertaining to SDC. I earned it.

    Since last afternoon the rain has not stopped. I pity those walking the Camino at the moment, and I pity my self, as it just does not feel nice trying to do anything in the rain. It is supposed to be like this for the next 4 to 5 days. So I might as well hibernate tomorrow. But I need to get some washing done too. No rest for the wicked. During the last few days when walking along talkng to this American and German gents, they asked me if after the Camino we were doing anything else. So Shyama mentioned how she was heading back home and I mentioned how Colin was coming and we were going to hike up a mountain in Slovakia and then maybe do some walking in Austria. He asked me if it was against my religion to relax.🤔😋 (no comments from the gallery please)

    After dinner with Shehan and his friend I went to the reception to see if I could borrow a travel weighing scales. One of the Irish gents who had been present at the morning mass complimented me on starting off the intention offering at morning mass.He said I spoke very nicely and that they had been talking about it. ☺🙄

    The first photo is the casket that holds the relics of St James. It is very nice to look at.
    Read more