Satellite
Afficher sur la carte
  • Jour 26

    Nazareth & Cana

    26 juin 2023, Israël ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    This morning I was checking out of Tiberias and moving to Nazareth. A little unknown village in Jesus's day. This was where Jesus, grew up, his hidden years form this time.

    I have been fighting a flu the last few days, and as the pilgrimage is coming to an end, I can afford to take it easy. Looking back on the last few weeks the first 12 days were more or less touristic and holiday. It was when I shifted to Jerusalem on the 13th June my pilgrimage started for real.

    Yesterday I had a few people say to me what a brave person I am to come to Israel on my own. Looking back I can honestly say there has been no issues, no different to planning a holiday to any part of the world. You need to be organised and do your research.

    I met an Australian couple on the boat in the sea of Galilee, the gent wanted to talk so much, where as I just wanted to enjoy the moment. But....... I had to listen. His wife was very keen on Dancing. They were on an individual guided tour and again thought I was brave.

    At the monetstry ladt night met 2 young girls in their teenage years. ( indean). They were from Londan and such a credit to there parents. The tour group they were with was made of 4 parishes . We got talking and everyone was amazed that I had never been to Israel and doing this on my own. The sisters borrowed my book to have a flick through and were hoping to order the book online. They felt their guide was not giving them much information about each site, abd they were rushing through places.

    The sisters bought their mother to be introduced to me when at breakfast. 🙂

    After I got my self sorted I ordered a taxi to come to Nazareth via Cana.

    Cana is where Jesus turned water into wine at the wedding feast. This was his first miracle and his disciples came to believe in him. Had a quick stop at the church, mmmmm.... not much to say other than the fact it was built over what might have been an old Synagogue. The photo of the huge vessel is the kind that might have had water stored and where the water was turned into wine.

    Today there is nearly 85% Muslims and 15% Christians. Not many Jeswish in this area, as opposed to Tiberias having a majority of a Jewish population.

    I was at the new accomodation by 10.30 am or so, but even though check in was at 3.00pm was allowed to check in early. Went for a walk, but wasn't feeling great so came back and had a nap.

    KFC is in the same building not sure if to have KFC for dinner or go Looking for something else. My appetite has taken a hit. One of the few countries I must say that I haven't really fallen in love with the food. Not sure why?

    Pause for Thought

    Today i visied the place that Jesus not only did his first miracle, but also showed his love for his mother.

    The love we all rely on in our hour of need is the Vergin Mary. Even just uttering her name makes you feel different, it is as if she is there as soon as you say her name. She gives you her strength. Other mothers too have suffered, when they see their child who is loved so much suffer. But we do not get strength through them. Where as with the love of Mother Mary you feel that you are able to face what ever the out come will be. I don't believe that we pray to just keep asking God for this and that, neither should we always be asking MM for requests and intercession all the time. We should be giving thanks and praying for all we have in our life, starting from having her son in our life.
    En savoir plus