Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Christine’s Update

    September 1, 2023 in Portugal ⋅ ☁️ 75 °F

    While Dale & Georgie have been walking 10+ miles per day, I’ve been going at a more leisurely pace, roughly 5.2 miles per day. After saying goodbye to them in Barcelos, I traveled east to the Atlantic and the port city of Viana do Castelo.

    Viana is a very active city with one very spectacular viewpoint, the Basilica de Santa Luzia. Of course it’s at the top of another hill; this one with 567 steps or for the hill climbing adverse walker like me, another funicular!
    A huge festival celebrating the local cultural traditions just finished, but there were special displays and events still going on. Many folks were wearing traditional clothing from the past, items they were wearing into the 1950’s.

    One of the museums I visited was a chocolate museum. It was a hands on, interactive experience including making my own chocolate concoction! It tasted awful until I added a ton of brown sugar crystals!
    Read more