Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Thank you, Greece!

    September 28, 2018 in Greece ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    The week has been exhilarating, but also exhausting. The grand scale and history of the ancient sites at times leave you speechless, the people are completely friendly and fun, and the food exquisitely simple and delicious. I did get to see all of the historical sites and museums I was hoping to see, except for Plato's Academy, which is in a pretty inaccessible part of town. Although the strong Aegean winds forced the cancellation of my trip to Hydra, it did give me the time to more fully explore the neighborhood of Psyrri, where I've pretty much decided that our study abroad group will stay, and to travel instead to heavenly Delphi. As for the food, it's hard to choose a winner among the Feta Grilled in Honey and Walnuts, souvlaki pita "to go," and Braised Lamb w/ Greek Gnocchi, and the Phyllo Pie with Pastrumi! I can't wait to go back in May with students, but especially with Michele!Read more