Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    The Olgas and Uluru

    May 19, 2018 in Australia ⋅ 🌙 14 °C

    Wow wow and wow!!!! Much more impressive than we thought they would be. We came across the Olgas first and they are a stunning range of rocks that seem to come out of nowhere. Huge and beautiful to see. We were driving through a fairly flat scrubby landscape, then these great big, gigantic, massive red rocks appear that make you sit up and look. We were quite awed by the sight of them. I doubt our photos can do them justice.

    We did a short walk into the gorge at the Olgas and then decided to go and have a look at Uluru (Eyers Rock) 40m Kilometres away. It was getting a little late in the day, so our intention was to just have a look and see what is what, then return the next day. We had heard that the climb up the rock was closed due to winds. However when we arrived about 3pm, it was open and Dave has always wanted to climb the rock. So off he went. It was too daunting for me. I thought I could probably get to the top but didn’t like the thought of coming down as my knees are not what they used to be.

    When Dave set off it was about 3pm and he finally returned about 5 pm so it took about 2 hours to do the round trip. He said it was much, much more difficult than he ever expected. He also said that it is very dangerous and can not believe that is is even allowed considering today’s health and safety rules and regs.

    I sat down and waited for him to return. There was a lot of people coming and going, some to climb, and some to just look. I haven’t seen this many people since we left Perth! This place definitely attracts tourists!!!!!.

    They are closing the climb in October 2019 because the Aboriginal people believe it is a sacred place, and to climb it, is disrespectful to their cultural beliefs. Cultural beliefs aside, Dave now believes it should be closed and felt it was one of the most dangerous things he’s ever done. There are dozens of plaques embedded in the rock wall dedicated to people who have died while climbing.

    He took lots of photos while he was up there with my camera, but I haven’t worked out how to get them from the camera onto my iPad. I can put them onto a USB stick but I don’t have one that will go into an iPad. This travel blog is done through an app on my iPad so the photos need to be accessible from the photos app on this iPad. Sorry if that confuses you, its not really relevant so just ignore🤪.
    Read more