Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 52

    Prizren and back to Shkodra

    November 6, 2022 in Kosovo ⋅ 🌧 10 °C

    I've spent 2 nights in Prizren before I decided to go back to Shkoder by hitchhiking

    I felt really tired, had a little bit of a headache and didnt feel like hitchhiking, but the bus to Shkoder was 15 euros, so it would be nice if I could save that money

    I started walking away from the city center and I've got a ride for a few kilometers by an kosovan guy who didnt speak any english, he dropped me off at the bus station for the bus to Shkoder so I started thinking again about taking the bus because it would be more relaxing

    Well, I still had 1 hour before the bus so I decided to start hitchhiking again instead

    It didn't took long before someone stopped for me, it was a guy from Kosovo but he was living in Milano since 30 years, he moved there during the war

    His brother had a serious accident with his car and is in hospital so he went to visit him for a week and right now he was on his way to Tirana airport to get his flight back to Milan

    When i got out of his car I was in a really terrible spot for hitchhiking
    I had to walk for a bit to get back on the highway to Shkoder and after a walk of about 1 hour I started to thumb up again at drivers

    Several cars passed before one stopped, it was a private taxi and he was going to Lezhe but he wanted 200 lek (1,6 eur) for it

    Well, Lezhe was about 10 kms so 200 lek isnt too much and since I am in such a bad spot for hitchhiking it would be good to get to a better spot to catch a ride to Shkoder

    When I arrived in Lezhe a taxi driver approached me and he really wanted to convince me to get his taxi to Shkoder but he got in an argument with another taxi driver, it didn't took long before the other taxi driver punched him in the face and they started fighting each other

    But good... They were shouting to each other in albanian and I had no idea what this is all about so I decided to just move on and try to hitch another ride, it was already getting dark so I had to catch another ride soon if I still wanted to make it today and I was feeling pretty bad, I was really tired and by now I had a really bad headache

    I started thumbing up again and after a while a guy with his mother and sister stopped for me, the guy spoke a very little bit english but the rest of his family didn't seem to speak much english

    After about 40 minutes of driving they pulled over in a small local restaurant, we went there to eat, the food was really delicious and it was a lot!

    When my driver paid for the food I asked him how much i have to pay him but he told me he would pay for it and that I did not have to pay

    After the restaurant he drove me to Shkoder, he asked me if I had a place to stay, he offered me to sleep at his house

    I already booked a hostel in Shkoder so I did refuse that although I really appreciate the offer, he dropped me off right in front of my hostel

    When I arrived at the hostel I didn't see a sign of the hostel at the address at all, I decided I wanted to call the hostel but that wasnt possible as I dont have mobile data and calling is expensive outside of the EU

    So I head back into the city center looking for another hostel, I found a public wifi hotspot which I used to book another hostel on my phone but when I arrived at my new hostel no one opened the door neither, I was waiting for about 30 minutes until I've met an indian guy who was also guest in the hostel, he let me in so I could finally check in and rest a bit after a very tiring day
    Read more