Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 53

    Hitchhiking to Montenegro

    November 7, 2022 in Montenegro ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    Hitchhiking from Shköder to Montenegro proved to be more difficult as hitchhiking within Albania

    I was waiting for a while for a ride, the traffic in direction of Montenegrian border was scarce and no one would stop for me

    After about 20 minutes a guy on a scooter stopped for me, but I did reject this ride, it didn't seem very convenient to take a big backpack with me on his scooter

    After not getting a ride for 30 minutes I decided to start walking already, the montenegrian border was only about 20 kilometers, after walking for only a few minutes a guy stopped for me

    He wasn't going to Montenegro but he was going halfway and wanted to give me a ride
    He spoke very good english, he told me I could try to travel by bike, so I can just keep going and I won't have to wait for a ride all the time

    He also told me about his project, he runs a guesthouse, his project is called 'free showers' and all hostels or guesthouses who join in the project are offering free accommodation to people travelling with a bike

    After the guy dropped me off at his guesthouse I started walking again

    When I was only 5 kilometers from the montenegrian border someone finally stopped for me

    He was going to Lucinj and could drop me there

    After I got to Lucinj I wanted to go further north to Bar

    I wandered a bit around in Lucinj first and went for a walk, hoping to find a good spot to hitchhike, this turned out to be a big mistake

    I walked for a while but could not find a good hitchhiking spot nor could I find a good place to pitch my tent since almost every plot of land seemed like it was private property

    I found the highway again but it was a terrible spot on the highway, cars were coming by too fast and there was barely room for a car to stop

    After about 40 minutes one guy who was entering the highway honked at me and signed to me to get in, so I got in his car

    It was a kosovan guy who lived in Germany and Antwerp and now he lives in Montenegro

    He was going to Dobra Voda but he went out of his way to drive me to Bar because it was getting dark already and he wanted to make sure I safely arrived in Bar!
    Read more