Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 55

    Finding a place to sleep

    November 9, 2022 in Montenegro ⋅ 🌙 15 °C

    Today I was about to leave Bar and do a hike in the direction of Budva

    I started walking for hours until I saw something what looked like a wild beach on maps.me

    I thought that would be a good spot to pitch my tent

    All villages I was passing through were empty, even though the weather is still perfect to chill at the beach, its low season so in some villages everything was closed and no one was there anymore

    When I was on the way to the wild beach I had to pass through some really dense forest for about 1 km, there were also rocks and some parts were pretty steep and involved some rock scrambling

    It was not a great idea to do this with my big backpack and all my gear, I could barely move since my backpack was that heavy and since there was almost no space

    I got stung by thorns and branches all the time and at some point I almost slipped from the rock, fortunately I could still hold on to a tree which saved me from falling down

    I decided it was not a smart idea to continue to this beach so I was heading back to the village

    I had no idea what to do now, I needed a place to sleep but I had no idea where

    I was looking at the bus schedule and there is supposed to be a bus at 17h back to Bar

    I wasnt even sure if this bus was still running in the low season and there was no one around to ask so I decided to wait, if the bus wouldn't come I would just sleep at the beach in my sleeping bag

    At 17h the bus was there, on the bus I have met a montenegrian guy who was fishing, he gave me a sip of traditional homemade montenegrian brandy, it was quite good

    He also gave me a bottle of whiskey as a gift, I told him he didn't have to do that but he insisted

    After I arrived back to Bar I started walking north to look for a place to pitch my tent

    I found a pretty big flat spot near the beach and close to the road and decided to pitch my tent there and start hitchhiking further to Budva from here tomorrow
    Read more