Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    Giving Up Cruz de Ferro

    June 28, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 86 °F

    Cruz de Ferro is the highest point of the entire Camino Frances. There is a cross there where people have laid down small stones and other mementos and said prayers thanking God for taking away their burdens.

    I have carried a small stone given to my by Harrison for that very occasion. Today I laid it down at the small memorial pictured here, knowing that I will not make it to Cruz de Ferro—due to the lack of dialysis after Astorga and the climb itself.

    Still, I thanked (and thank!) God for the sacrifice of Christ and his willingness “all my sins and griefs to bear.”

    I have had to let go of many things on this Camino and not seeing Cruz de Ferro might be the least of them (and probably not the last). Still, what I have gained in drawing closer to God, drawing closer to Sean, in what I have been blessed to do, and in the friendships gained, has FAR outweighed anything I have given up!
    Read more