Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Oxford

    May 1, 2023 in England ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    On Sunday and to leave the Isle of Wight and commuted to Oxford. The journey there was rather long, but it was easy to find the trains and buses I had to take. I arrived in the late afternoon at my Bed and Breakfast in Summertown, an area in Oxford with pretty neighborhoods and shops, and cafes. I was pretty tired so I just wandered around the area and went to bed early.

    After a nice breakfast on Monday, I went into the city center of Oxford.
    Oxford was founded back in the 9th century. In the Middle Ages Oxford grew rather important, it’s said it was the 6th largest city in England at that time. In the late 12th century the University of Oxford was built. Today the University and its colleges have around 40’000 attending, which makes up a quarter of the city. Between the massive and elegant-looking old buildings that host colleges or museums, you can always find green spots and trees. As I walked through the city and looked at all the pretty colleges, libraries, and churches I felt the city's charm that the mix between the long history and modernity the people living there brought it. Despite the many people roaming around, you feel safe and connected to the city. I find it a very pretty city and I can tell, why so many students want to study at the University of Oxford.
    Read more