Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2–4

    LAZY AS A TURTLE

    December 27, 2023 in Costa Rica ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    “Tortuguero” can be roughly translated to “Land of the Turtles.” It’s isolated from civilisation and is home to diverse and rare wildlife.

    It’s only reachable by boat or tiny airplane.
    Heading there by boat shows plenty of wildlife including green long neck turtles and crocodiles. We even saw an emu like big black bird with a yellow beak strolling along the shoreline. Colourful birds and plenty of butterflies make you question why you live in a grey city with crows.

    Carribean wetlands, plenty of fruit juices and Reggae is what you can expect. People are friendly and easy going.

    I flew my drone out this morning and was taken aback of just how beautiful this place is. Seeing it from above makes you appreciate it even more. That said, it’s also rather boring if you’re not into bird watching.

    So I ticked that off my list, will head now to the beach in which I can’t swim because of insane currents and will try to get rid of my T-shirt suntan lines at the beach 🏝️

    Tomorrow I’m off to Puerto Viejo - a sleepy Carribean village with good rum and good friends who wait for me to hang out!

    Plan is to get a bicycle and hang out at the beach all day - parties at night 🎉

    But yeah! Tortuguero is worth it- you can rent a Kajak for 25$ and cruise around and then you can leave somewhere else 😄💜
    Read more