Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Cruising the western fjords

    August 26, 2018 in Norway ⋅ 🌧 10 °C

    Early morning: I am already packed and eager to get to the first cruise of my life. First and last. I was reluctant to go for the environmental impact and I still have the guilt.
    Polarlys is waiting for me already at the Pier. I am 75 minutes earlier and -of course!- my room’s not ready. I head to the top and I find the warm morning light penetrating the explorer’s deck. Leather reclinable chairs filled with something that feels like down (my buttocks swim in softness), everybody relaxed and reading or listening to music.
    Three hours after the departure, blue-gray and golden-white clouds make their way towards us and release their waters. It’s an incredibly dramatic scenery: no hollywood special effect can replicate the fast pace and fury and colour changing and shapes the sky takes.
    After the rain, a unicorn paints a big rainbow from the yellow and green hillside leaving me breathless: never seen its base so close!
    Read more